National Fish & Chip Awards - Winners and Finalists

Each year the National Fish & Chip Awards recognise talent and celebrate excellence, quality and choice offered by businesses across the fish and chip industry in a variety of award categories.

Hosted by Mark Sargeant and attended by over 600 guests, the awards ceremony for the 2020 National Fish & Chip Awards took place on Thursday 23 January at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London.

Nominees are appraised in each of the key areas that highlight best practice against a range of criteria - with mystery dining judges attending the shops to assess a number of factors including responsible sourcing practices, customer service, staff training policies and the overall quality of the fish and chips on offer. 

2020 Winners:

Fish and Chip Shop of the Year Award

Download the 2020 National Fish & Chip Awards - Winners And Finalists Brochure

Other Award categories:

  • Best Fish and Chip Restaurant Award: Trenchers Restaurant, Spanish City, Whitley Bay
  • Best Newcomer Award: Lewis’s Fish & Grill, Maidstone, Kent
  • NFFF Quality Award Champion: The Real Food Café, Tyndrum, Stirlingshire
  • Best Seafood Week Campaign Award: Penaluna’s Famous Fish & Chips, Hirwaun, Aberdare
  • Best Foodservice Operator Award: Mary Lambert Artisan Bakery, Hartlepool, County Durham
  • Menu Development and Innovation Award: Fish City Belfast, Belfast
  • Marketing Innovation Award: Shap Chippy, Shap, Penrith
  • From Field to Frier Award: Fish & Chips @ Weston Grove, Upton, Chester
  • Good Catch Award: Fish & Chips @ Weston Grove, Upton, Chester
  • Staff Training and Development Award: The Wetherby Whaler, Yorkshire
  • Drywite Young Fish Frier of the Year:  Charlie Collins, Frydales, Leicester, Leicestershire  
  • Best Mobile Operator Award: The English Indian, Lichfield, Staffordshire
  • Best Multiple Operator Award: Sutton & Sons, London
  • Seasonal UK Seafood Award: Something Else Fishy, Milborne Port, Sherborne
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Richard Ord, Colmans of South Shields, Tyne and Wear 

2020 Shortlists:

Details of previous winners and finalists are listed by year below:

2019 Award Winners +

2018 Award Winners +

2017 Award Winners +

2016 Award Winners +

2015 Award Winners +

2014 Award Winners +

2013 Award Winners +

2012 Award Winners +

Previous Winners +

Get the Latest Updates

Sign up for our Newsletters

Don't miss a moment